National Poetry Day 2012 – One star less than needed

I don’t think I have ever had any of my poems published. At least I can’t remember. Either way, I have a lot of work that has never been seen and I have I have decided to self-publish it.

I have nothing against the classic, minimalist slim volume of poetry, and I have attempted to lay out a book before, but something was always unsatisfying when I put my own words on the page. Here is a poem I wrote in 2003 and a drawing I did at about the same time, although they were not related to each other at that time.

I’ve often been guilty of over-thinking things, but having randomly thrown a couple of elements together, I had a bit of a breakthrough with the layout above, and I have decided to go for a more graphic layout to my slim volume.

Also, I think i might make it into a kinda poetry fanzine, rather than a book. I’m going to publish the pages one at a time before gathering them together, so stay tuned for updates and let me know what you think…

issuu.com/richardbolam
nationalpoetryday.co.uk

Leave a Reply

