High Street X – “Hello, can I give you a hard sell?”

High Street X graphics.041

It’s amazing just how polite people are. I guess what goes around comes around. My sales pitch usually starts with the question “Hello, can I give you a hard sell?” I go on to explain that High Street X is a embodiment of some aspects of my forthcoming major retrospective and is a project inspired by the DIY ethic of the post-punk era, updated to include the techniques of the commercial world in order to promote the values of the cultual world whilst being a satire on that very same world.

Don’t knock it. It works.

IMG_4187

The New Bank of X pop-up bank

Manners cost nothing and I only got one refusal all day at the first FORGE contemporary art, design & craft fair on 23rd June 2013, organised by Sheffield’s Hallam Roses Women’s Institute.

In a world awash with misleading advertising, scam phone calls and charity muggers, the honesty of it is disarming.

IMG_4188

Cheesy snacks and hi-vis fashionwear

A gambit I have not tried before is offering homemade cheesy snacks. They were quite popular and gave me yet another way of luring people to my stall. Expect more snack-based marketing in future.

IMG_4189

The Black Daffodil Press pop-up bookshop

Also, freebies are always welcome. In this instance, the Stalky Ringbits Memorial Beer Mat was my initial talking point and I point out his motto is “Flaunt it now, because you can’t take it with you.”

I am taking that advice so expect more soon…

Leave a Reply

