I don’t follow anyone’s rules except my own rules… RULE FOUR

Access Space 20x20 poster 01 v6

See this post for the intro to this series of posts about rules.

RULE FOUR: Consider everything an experiment.
This is one of my favourites, and most helpful. Many years ago, I made a conscious decision not to make precious objects, only ephemera or reproducible items. This freed me from a tyranny of my own making which was FOFU (the fear of fucking up). In more recent years I decided to treat everything as an experiment and/or a version and not worry about revising things if need be.

The poster above is a good example. The one you see here is version 6 of this particular poster. I generally  go through multiple versions of any work, creating a new version each time I make a radical change, just out of FOFU.

I will be making a number of these between now and the exhibition, each one an experiment. For more information about the eighth annual Access Space 20×20 open call exhibition, visit their website.

Leave a Reply

