I don’t follow anyone’s rules except my own rules… APPENDIX

Screen shot 2013-10-08 at 07.13.50

See this post for the intro to this series of posts about rules.

HINTS: Always be around. Come or go to everything. Always go to classes. Read anything you can get your hands on. Look at movies carefully, often. Save everything — it might come in handy later.

It’s invaluable to look at what other people are doing, listen to advice and not try to re-invent the wheel every day.

It’s interesting that in the “hints” appendix to her 10 rules, Sister Corita mentions movies specifically. I am an advocate of taking in popular cultural references as well as the influences that are more precious to your work. This helps to avoid the masturbatory, navel-gazing of monocultural practice and can often introduce you to ideas outside of your normal sphere.

I don’t blame school for not telling me about Gandhi, because they could only teach us so much. I learned about him from Richard Attenborough’s 1982 feature film.

A lesson in filmmaking that I recommend to anyone, is the audio commentary by Ridley Scott for “Alien” (1979). His matter-of-fact delivery and leaps of imaginative faith are inspiring.

Having said all that, it’s best not to pick up all of your philosophical outlook from films such as “Porky’s” (1982), although having recently re-watched “The Breakfast Club” (1985) after a gap of about 20 years, it’s a much better and more subtley nuanced movie than I was aware of the first time around.

Conversely, some movies, that are closer to the centre of the art world, are lessons in how not to make films. A tedious chore that I would prefer not to repeat is Matthew Barney’s “Cremaster” cycle (2003), and my less-than-complimentary opinion of Lars Von Trier is widely known.

As far as saving everything goes, I would not be able to celebrate my upcoming retrospective if I had not saved everything way back from the 1970s.

I have six months to go until the beginning of my Bolam Retrospective year, and preparations are underway for a launch event on 24th April 2014. Stay tuned…

This is the last post in the series about Sister Corita Kent’s 10 rules (with a little help from John Cage), so thanks to Brain Pickings for reminding me that not everything is about me. Sometimes it’s important to listen to what other people think about me.

http://www.brainpickings.org/index.php/2012/08/10/10-rules-for-students-and-teachers-john-cage-corita-kent/

Leave a Reply

