The 20 days of 20×20 Day 3 – 3rd September 2014 @AccessSpace #20×202014

Screen shot 2014-09-02 at 13.25.29

Here is another one of the teaser trailers from last year. My “brilliant” idea was to make a paint-pizza. A 20-inch paint pizza, of course. I have used this technique before, and it worked very well with smaller pizzas but I just wasn’t happy with the results and so I abandoned it as a failure. Or should I say, I postponed its success until another time. Maybe this year. You’ll just have to wait and see.

Why pizza? I have been making work about food for a while and it’s a satirical poke at the low-brow, manufactured trashiness of much of Contemporary Modern Art where you make something that is no more than process art but lend it some pseudo-intellectual credibility by associating it with a famous thinker, preferably Freud. Rather like fast food that comes with a donation to charity.

Unfortunately, I couldn’t find any brainy quotes by Freud about pizza, but google provided me with a link to the nearest pizza restaurants if I ever visit the Sigmund Freud Museum in Vienna.

http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/RestaurantsNear-g190454-d194137-Sigmund_Freud_Museum-Vienna.html

Damien Hirst has made a fortune from his spin paintings made by interns, so maybe I’ll be able to emulate his success one day.

Leave a Reply

