The 20 days of 20×20 Day 7 – 7th September 2014 @AccessSpace #20×202014

Screen shot 2014-09-02 at 13.25.59

I must admit that I had forgotten that I never finished the ‘making of’ video from my 20×20 for last year’s show at Access Space, Sheffield, UK. After postponing the victory that is yet to be the paint pizza, I decided to take a different approach which turned out to be more like the previous year’s.

In recent years I have started shooting the process of making the artworks, if possible, although, after 2012, I realised you can only make a joke out of watching paint dry once and I ended up with far too much media, hence the delay in getting it finished.

Here are a few stills and I will edit and upload a ‘making of’ video at some point.

In 2012 I made a work entitled “HR Code #1: Humanus Legibilis Memento Mori” which is a little piss-take of the recent obsession with QR codes. It is a 20 x 20 mosaic of my personal memento mori, Stalky Ringbits, arranged in a form reminiscent of a QR code. It’s not machine readable, it’s human readable, hence an HR code and the pidgin Latin means “human-readable reminder of death”.

Stalky - 20x20 Halloween V1

I don’t understand why QR codes became so trendy as you need a smart phone to read them. What’s more you can’t copy them or remember them and the only thing they seem to be used for is containing a web URL. I prefer a more robust technology for that purpose, and that’s the memorable web address.

Leave a Reply

