The 20 days of 20×20 Day 9 – 9th September 2014 @AccessSpace #20×202014

Screen shot 2014-09-02 at 13.27.50

To recap for anyone who missed it, Access Space in Sheffield, UK, has an annual open-call, free-to-enter art show. The submitted work can be any medium and any subject as long as it’s 20 inches square. You can buy a ready-made 20 inch board from Access Space or you can make your own. The deadline is the 17th September with an opening event on the 19th.
http://access-space.org/the-blog/

Here is a composite panorama of 20×20 2013. Click on the image to view a high resolution version.

IMG_6532

I’m never short of ideas although many of them are unrealised for various reasons. Sometimes it’s too complicated, or I don’t have the correct skills, or maybe too expensive. Sometimes they’re just bad ideas, although you can’t always tell at first.

I used to think of myself as an artist primarily interested in aesthetic work, but these days I try to embody a bit more in each work. That is not to say that my work is no longer aesthetic. I see it as a challenge to make beautiful things that have some conceptual depth. Easily said.

Some things just don’t work. That (ahem) pyramid for instance.

But never mind, not everything can be the amazing success that I am normally used to.

Anyway, this year I am running out of time, although I have a “brilliant” idea. In fact, I have several “brilliant” ideas although I think some of them are too “brilliant” to be possible within the time I have left. I have a readymade 20 inch paint pizza that I made last year but didn’t use, but something about it doesn’t satisfy me yet. I feel that I need to make it a bit more “brilliant” before showing it.

IMG_4824

So, what’s it going to be then, eh?

Leave a Reply

