The 20 days of 20×20 Day 11 – 11th September 2014 @AccessSpace #20×202014

Screen shot 2014-09-02 at 13.28.04

Here is another seminal influence of mine, “Le Mystere Picasso” (1956, director Henri-Georges Clouzot). I saw this film for the first time on the TV in the mid-1980s but it was already considered a classic. I haven’t had time to go through all the clips in this playlist, but I recommend watching the whole film if possible.

In 1956, it would have taken some significant resources to capture live of timelapse film. These days it’s almost too easy to capture everything, and therein lies a problem. I have made life difficult for myself on many occasions, not necessarily because I missed something, but because I captured far too much media and then either didn’t know what to do with it, or else just didn’t have time to deal with it all.

In the embedded clip you can see some sort of confrontation going on as the director is about to run out of film in the current magazine. I have had quite the opposite problem, and last year managed to capture great long sequences of pretty much nothing. Watching paint dry is only novel once, and having made something of it in 2012, it just wasn’t funny the second time around.

Many years later, I have all these tools at my disposal; more cameras than I can use, a digital paintbox (see previous post) and my own film production facilities. And what do I do with it?

Paint.

Leave a Reply

